About Us

2013 CDI BC Mens Curling Championship gets underway in Parksville

Date: 2013-02-05

PARKSVILLE (February 05, 2013) - The top men’s curling teams from across British Columbia are gathering in Parksville for the second year in a row to battle for a coveted trip to the Brier.
A total of 16 teams will face off at the 2013 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship, which starts today (February 5).
There will be practice ice time and a banquet for all the teams today and the first draws begin at 9 a.m. tomorrow.

Spectators can follow the action at the Parksville Curling Club for just $5/draw or $40 for a full event pass. Anyone who cannot make it to the club can watch the semifinal and final live on Shaw. The semifinal will air on Saturday, February 9, at 7:30 p.m. and the final will air on Sunday, February 10, at 5 p.m. (all times PST).
Keep up-to-date with the live scores via www.playdowns.com.

2013 BC Men's Curling Championships ParksvilleTeam Cotter, who curl at the Vernon and Kelowna curling clubs, will be back to defend their title, but with a slightly altered line-up. In the place of last year’s Third, Kevin Folk, who moved to Calgary, Skip Jim Cotter has brought in Jason Gunnlaugson, who hails from Winnipeg, Manitoba. Gunnlaugson moved to Vernon last year after his role as skip of the Russian Curling Federation’s 2014 Winter Olympics team fell through. Second Tyrel Griffith (Kelowna) and Lead Rick Sawatsky (Kelowna) remain team staples.

The team that made it into the championship based on Canadian Team Ranking System (CTRS) points was Team Pierce, from the Royal City Curling Club. Skip Brent Pierce, from New Westminster, curls with Third Jeff Richard (Kelowna) as well as Lead Grant Dezura (Maple Ridge) and Second Kevin Recksiedler (Port Moody). The team earned their qualification through points earned in various curling events held throughout the season, including cashspiels such as the Grand Slam of Curling events.

Team Horning, who curl at Castlegar/Penticton curling clubs, were champions in 2005 and are looking for a return to the number one spot. Skip Deane Horning, Third Don Freschi, Second Rob Nobert and Fifth Kevin Nesbitt all hail from Trail. Their Lead, Brad Wood, hails from Penticton.

Two members of Team Buchy, from Kimberley Curling Club, have already been to a national championship in the past few months, and they are looking to return as Men’s champions. Skip Tom Buchy and his Second, Dave Toffolo, went to the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, held in Montreal, in November. Third Dave Stephenson (Kelowna) and Lead Darren Will (Fernie) make up the rest of the team.

Some members of Team Perepolkin, from Vernon Curling Club, have previous Brier experience. Third Tyler Orme (Armstrong/Vernon) and Lead Chris Anderson (Kelowna) were the 2010 BC champions with Team Richard (when Jeff Richard from Team Pierce skipped the team). They are joined by Skip Trevor Perepolkin (Vernon) and Second James McKenzie (Kamloops).

Team Longworth, from Vernon Curling Club, contains a father-and-son duo with national experience. Dad Mark Longworth (Skip, Vernon) coached his son Michael Longworth (Lead, Vernon) at the 2011 Canadian Junior Curling Championships. Third Jamie Sexton (1987 BC Champion, Vernon) and Second Hugh Bennett (2000 BC Junior Champion, Salmon Arm) make up the rest of the team.

Team Montgomery curl at Victoria Curling Centre but they are not all based in Victoria. Skip Jason Montgomery is based in Duncan, while Third Miles Craig lives in Shawnigan Lake. Second Will Duggan lives in Crofton and Lead Josh Hozack, a former BC Junior champion, calls Victoria home.

Team Tuson, from Victoria Curling Centre, are looking for a return to a national competition. Skip Jay Tuson and Second Glen Jackson were part of the Dean Joanisse rink that went to the Brier in 2001. Third Colin Mantik and Lead Ken Tucker make up the rest of the team. All team members live in Victoria.

Half of the current Team Geall were 2009 champions and those members are looking to return to the Brier. Skip Sean Geall (Maple Ridge) and Lead Mark Olson (White Rock) were part of that winning team. Third Jay Peachey (New Westminster) was a 2004 champion and Second Sebastian Robillard (Burnaby) has yet to take a title. They all curl at the Royal City Curling Club in New Westminster.

Team Wakefield, who also curl at the Royal City Curling Club, all hail from Vancouver. Third Paul Cseke and Skip/Second Jay Wakefield were 2008 BC Junior Champions. They are joined on the team by Fourth Mike Johnson and Lead John Cullen, a stand-up comedian who includes curling jokes in his material.

Team McArdle, who curl at the Royal City Curling Club are made up of Skip Ken McArdle (Port Coquitlam), Third Dylan Somerton (Surrey), Second Jared Bowles (New Westminster), Lead Michael Horita (Langley). Somerton and Horita were 2010 BC Junior Champions.

Team Dangerfield, who all hail from Victoria, are looking for their first trip to the Brier. They were silver medalists at the 2011 BC men’s championship. Skip Neil Dangerfield, Third Denis Sutton, Second Darren Boden, Lead Glen Allen and Fifth Will Sutton earned their spot at the championship at the open qualification event held in early January.

Team Joanisse are an experienced team who curl at the Royal City Curling Club. Dean Joanisse skipped a different team to take the 2007 championship title. Joanisse, of Abbotsford, will be joined at this year’s championship by Third Bryan Kedziora (Maple Ridge), Second Randie Shen (Port Coquitlam) and Lead Mike Goerz (Abbotsford).

Team Yamada are the only representatives from the Kamloops Curling Club. The team, which features brothers Brent and Lance Yamada, as Skip and Lead respectively, will be joined by Third Corey Sauer and Second Doug Murdoch. All the team members hail from Kamloops.

With their qualification for the 2013 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Championship, Team Brower, from Peace Arch Curling Club, will no longer be eligible to play at The Dominion Club Championship – something they were able to do last year. Skip Richard Brower (South Surrey) and his brother Deryk Brower (Richmond) as well as their coach Larry MacDonald (South Surrey) all represented BC at the club championships, which took place in Scarborough in November last year. Third Jan Bos (Vancouver) and Second Ted Stanyer (Langley) join the side hoping to make their mark at provincials.

Team Bilesky, who curl at the Royal City Curling Club, are looking for their first trip to the Brier. The team has had some success this season; they were runners-up at the Westcoast Curling Classic in New Westminster in the fall, losing in the final to Vancouver Olympic 2010 gold medalists, Team Kevin Martin. The team is made up of Skip Andrew Bilesky (New Westminster), Third Steve Kopf (Coquitlam), Second Derek Errington (New Westminster), Lead Aaron Watson (Surrey) and coach Neil Houston (Port Moody).

The winning team will represent B.C. at the 2013 Tim Hortons Brier, taking place at Edmonton’s Rexall Place from March 2-10.

To learn more visit: http://cdimens2013.curlbc.ca/  

Get a quote

Quick Auto Quote

Detailed Auto Quote 

Contact Us

Sales and Service

Have a Claim?

Available 24 hours
a day, 7 days a week,
365 days a year to
help you.


Direct To You
Sign up for our eNewsletter "Direct to You".

®Canadian Direct Insurance is a registered trademark of Canadian Direct Insurance Incorporated. ©2016 Canadian Direct Insurance Incorporated. All rights reserved.


Please select your province